Minesweeper Ace for Android

Fun versions for any operating system, including online games or phone apps.
Post Reply
Sliddle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:50 pm

Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Sliddle » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:16 pm

There wasn't a version of Minesweeper for Android that I liked so I figured I'd create my own. It includes a few features to speed up flagging such as adjustable long press time in ms. I've also added a button (which can be disabled) to the side which acts as a pedal, while it's clicked then tapping a tile will flag.

I've included every feature I could think of that was useful and made it all customisable

I've only just released it so I would really appreciate any feedback. Also, if there are any features you'd like, just reply here and if it's useful to a player, I'll most certainly implement it!

Thanks

Google Play Store link

*EDIT* Just remembered, I posted about this on Reddit earlier and included a code to remove all ads (they're removed after completing 250 games anyway) but just enter 'r/minesweeper' in the settings page to remove them all.

User avatar
Judith Sunrise
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 8:41 pm

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Judith Sunrise » Fri Jan 01, 2016 4:44 pm

Cool! One small suggestion, though: The flags look more like opened squares than closed ones although they are closed. Some might find this confusing.

Sliddle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Sliddle » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:52 pm

Hi,

I've just added that in the latest update :). Check the settings page and you can toggle whether the flag has a background or not.

Thanks for trying it and for the feedback.

User avatar
Judith Sunrise
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 8:41 pm

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Judith Sunrise » Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:46 pm

:D - I don't have an Android-phone, so I just looked at the screenshots. Thanks for including my suggestion.

User avatar
Tjips
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:15 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Tjips » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:48 am

I've played a few other minesweeper apps before, but this one is by far the best one I've tried. To be fair I think it's the integrated ranking that really pushes it over the edge for me, but the implementation is very (very) solid. A few things I would suggest, coming from my experience playing it on my (relatively) small screen (Samsung Galaxy S4 mini), are:

- Persistent zoom levels. I tend to prefer a setup that is as consistent as possible when playing MS, so it would be good to be able to choose a persistent zoom level.
- Board pan limiting. Moving the view around in-game is a necessary thing on a screen as small as mine. It is frustrating though that I can move so far that the board is almost entirely off my screen. I would suggest giving the board a (prob. half-square-width) border and limiting the view moving to that extreme.

I'll give further feedback as I keep playing...

Keep up the nice work, and thanks!
Bertie
The number of minesweeper boards:
Exp: 140055249834355336357264746443955277014822625680974475320364702381803619892657792049596418323789908370400 (1.4e104)
Int: 13115156192346373485000211099954895788134532256 (1.3e46) &
Beg: 18934455246 (1.9e10)
:D

User avatar
Tommy
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Tommy » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:05 am

Following Tjips' review, I decided to try it mayself, and can agree with that review.

One minor ( :roll: ) thing:

3bv counting appears to be buggy. See also:
Screenshot_2016-03-14-11-00-00.png
3bv calculated as 5, should be 4
Screenshot_2016-03-14-11-00-00.png (134.01 KiB) Viewed 8579 times
Also, I remember getting sup1 IOE while playing NF, which could be explained by the same thing.

Also: Sorry, Tjips :oops:
Don't anthropomorphize computers - they don't like it.

Sliddle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Minesweeper Ace for Android

Post by Sliddle » Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:15 pm

@Judith
Oh! Well thanks for the suggestion anyway :D.

@Tjips
Thanks! The zoom level doesn't change between games at the moment but I'll add a default value in the settings in the next update. I'll probably also just add a toggle button in for limiting the panning too. I want it to be as customizable to as possible. Cheers for trying it out :)

@Tommy
Ah yeah that doesn't look right, should've probably tested it a bit rather than assuming it worked fine ;). I'll sort it out in the next update. I'm in my last year in university at the moment and the deadlines are coming up so I don't have much free time at the moment. I'm actually doing my dissertation on solving minesweeper efficiently, I hate to say it but I'm starting to get sick of minesweeper haha.

Post Reply